Fear

“…I FEAR no evil…”

 

IMG_3352 by you.

“Even though I walk through the darkest valley, I fear no evil; for you are with me;”
Psalm 23: 4)

BOO!
As soon as I snapped this photo and put it on the computer screen I realized where science fiction writers and Hollywood movie makers get a lot of inspiration – from life right around us.  If I blew this wasp out of proportion to 100 times it’s normal size it could easily pass as the leading character in a sci-fi flick entitled, “The Alien Who Ate Sand Hill.”

Painful, tragic things happen not just in the movies but also in real life.  We struggle, we survive, we get through.  Yet often times it is fear accompanying our difficulties that can hinder or block our efforts to get through by blowing everything out of proportion.  Fear can become almost like a secondary infection that accompanies an accidental wound. The initial wound might not be life-threatening but the accompanying infection might take us to an early grave.

I was living with my family and working as a pastoral counselor in the Washington, DC metro area during the time when the sniper attacks took place.  For several seeks the sniper shot and killed several people at various locations around the metro area including stores, gas stations, schools, and restaurants.  It was a terrible situation.  A story related to the shooting was on the TV or in the newspapers almost every day.  It reached the point where people were beginning to tell me that they were afraid to go out, or afraid to get out of their cars to pump gas.  For some, the fear of the sniper was driving them into seclusion or stressing them out.  Their fear was blowing everything out of proportion.  I began to remind folks that it was their fear of the sniper that was destroying their lives.  I told them that statistically their chances of being killed in a car crash were still higher than being killed by the sniper.  I also told them that if every time they turned on their TV there was a little box in the corner of the screen that told them how many folks had died in car crashes that day, some of them would probably let the fear of car crashes keep them from riding in autos ever again.

The stories of the sniper were so present with them everyday in the news that they were allowing their fear of the sniper to choke life from them.  The good news of the Psalmist is that God is with us, so fear has no power.  Bad things happen, but if we allow fear to have a presence, it can become the “evil alien” that threatens to suck the very life from us.  Ask God to be present.  Practice spending time in the presence of God and fear will be foiled.  Where God is present, fear cannot reside.

“Even though I walk through the darkest valley, I fear no evil; for you are with me…”  I do not want fear to rule my life, nor to allow others to use fear to manipulate and use me.
I pray for God’s presence with me in the good and the not so good so that I will fear no evil.  How about you?

Blessings and Peace,
Gary
Pastor
Sand Hill United Methodist Church
Boaz, West Virginia

Help save lives! For more information on my new book, “A Relentless Hope: Surviving the Storm of Teen Depression,” visit www.survivingteendepression.com.

Check out my new video, “Teens Surviving the Storm”
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o1hSpxC_G24

~ by revgenelson on November 5, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
