“New Moon’s” Real Monster: Teen Depression

New Moon’s “Real Monster”: Teen Depression

Normally after our children see movies with somewhat of a “horror” edge like “New Moon,” the next installment in the “Twilight” vampire romance series, we tell them that the “monsters” in the movie are “make-believe.”  Unfortunately we won’t be able to do that in this case.  According to Jessica Reinis, writing for ABC News, there is a real monster in this movie called, “teen depression.”  Reinies writes that after Bella is dumped by her soul mate, Edward, Bella plunges into the depths of teen depression, teetering on the edge of life and death with her reckless behaviors.

Though I have yet to see the movie (I plan to see it asap) I know the “monster” that is depicted.  It’s the same monster that almost stole our son from my wife and me during his teen years.  Depression kills more teens in our country than any other medical illness.  For those it doesn’t kill, this monster steals life from its victims in so many other ways.  It is imperative that we educate teens and adults about the very real threat from this destructive force, teen depression, as well as the healing and hope that are available.  I am attempting to do just that with my new book, A Relentless Hope: Surviving the Storm of Teen Depression.” I have spent the past several months since the book’s publishing giving free seminars in high schools, colleges, churches, community groups, professional conferences, and music festivals.

I hope, like Jessica Reinis in her ABC article, that this movie will open the door for more education and discussion about this very real monster called “teen depression.”  For more information you can visit my website, www.survivingteendepression.com.  About a year ago some youth helped me make an educational video about teen depression that we posted on You Tube and Tangle.  The video has become very popular.  I get a great response from teens and adults when I show the video during my seminars.  It helps further explain the workings of this “monster” and offers hope for healing.   The video is entitled, “Teens Surviving the Storm.”  Here’s the You Tube link:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o1hSpxC_G24

Contact me through my website or at revgenelson@yahoo.com if you have further questions or would like a free speaker to help further the fight against this monster that’s killing our teens!

~ by revgenelson on November 21, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
