Worry

“And can any of you by worrying add a single hour…”

photo

“Consider the ravens: they neither sow nor reap, they have neither storehouse nor barn, and yet God feeds them.  Of much more value are you than the birds!  And can any of you by worrying add a single hour to your span of life?” (Luke 12:23-50)

On Sunday evening I spotted the bug, recently stuck in the spider’s web but still alive and kicking, struggling to free itself from its pending doom.  By the next afternoon, the bug was hardly recognizable as it hung neatly wrapped beside a decapitated grasshopper in the spider’s meat locker.

photo

Somehow I take comfort knowing that I am part of my God’s plan that is so amazing that even spiders have meat lockers.  As soon as I mention “God’s plan” I know I’ve stepped into dangerous territory.  Some might ask, “Are you saying that God plans for spiders to have food and plans for children to starve?  No, I do not think that child abuse, starvation, rape, murder, or any other kind of violence or suffering is part of God’s plan.  I do not know why some are hurt and suffer while others prosper.  I plan to ask God all about that someday.  However, when I find myself starting to worry about my own difficulties or the difficulties of others it does help me when I remember something like the spider’s meat locker, or the “ravens” as the writer of the Gospel of Luke would say.  It helps to know all of us are part of something much bigger than ourselves – something so miraculous down to the tiniest detail – something planned and made by the One who knows me down to the tiniest detail.

Pain and suffering threaten us with spiritual extinction.  They try to make us believe that we either have to embrace the notion that God plans hurtful things to happen, or that we must run away from that thought and instead believe there is no plan – there is no God, and thus no hope.  I’ve seen too many “spider’s meat lockers” and other such stuff to believe there is nothing.  I pray that when I start to worry God will remind me of spider’s meat lockers.  How about you?

Blessings and Peace,
Gary
Pastor, Sand Hill United Methodist Church
Boaz, West Virginia

Help save lives! For more information on my new book, “A Relentless Hope: Surviving the Storm of Teen Depression,” visit http://www.survivingteendepression.com.

Check out my new video, “Teens Surviving the Storm”
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o1hSpxC_G24

~ by revgenelson on August 12, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
