Help

“…help…”

photo


“But I have had God’s help to this very day…” (Acts 26:22)

I spotted him on the way to the church picnic and had to stop.  The billy goat and his buddies really didn’t seem too bothered by his dilemma.  When I walked to the fence to take the picture he made his way over and seemed to want help (or maybe, no probably,  food…).

photo

Anyway, I reached over the fence, removed his “crown,” and watched while he and his buddies proceeded to eat it…  The weed was wrapped around his horns pretty tightly so I doubt he would have been able to remove it by himself – and I doubt he would have had the patience to stand still long enough for his friends to eat the weed while it still entangled him.  This billy needed help.

Sometimes I think we live in a culture that seems tipped too much toward rugged individualism.  Don’t get me wrong, it’s certainly important that we work hard to do our best and succeed at our goals.  A stubborn “git ‘er done” (by myself) attitude is necessary at times.  However, too often I watch as folks needlessly suffer because they’re afraid to ask for help.  What’s so scary about asking for help?  If I ask for help does it imply I’m weak, does it mean I lack character?  No, the truth of the matter is that we all have limits and all find ourselves at times in need of help.

We may not realize it, but we all “have had God’s help to this very day.”  None of us could live without the sustaining, life-giving power of God at work in all of life and in each of our individual lives.  Without God’s ever present help there would be no life.  The more we allow ourselves to acknowledge God’s help, appreciate God’s help, and celebrate God’s help the more we will be able to accomplish our goals in harmony with God’s goals.  It also means that when we come upon our limitations we will be more comfortable asking for more help from God and one another.

I am grateful for God’s help and pray that neither fear, stubbornness, nor anything else will get in the way of my asking for God’s help or your help when I’m in need.  How about you?

Blessings and Peace,
Gary
Pastor, Sand Hill United Methodist Church
Boaz, West Virginia

Help save lives! For more information on my new book, “A Relentless Hope: Surviving the Storm of Teen Depression,” visit http://www.survivingteendepression.com.

Check out my new video, “Teens Surviving the Storm”
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o1hSpxC_G24

~ by revgenelson on August 25, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
