Gifts

“…different gifts…”

photo

“We have different gifts, according to the grace given us.”
(Romans 12:6)


The wood chips were flying yesterday as my neighbor and the resident chain saw carver launched into another one of his creations.  I am always amazed how artists can see something hidden in their medium and help it come to life.  I saw a block of wood.  My neighbor saw the OSU mascot and helped him escape from the block.

When I was a young teen still living at home and contemplating my future my mother would sometimes ask me two annoying questions.  (Well, at least at the time they seemed annoying.  Now I realize they were and are critical questions for all of us to ask our selves.)  The first question was, “What gifts has God given you?”  The second question was, “How is God calling you to use those gifts?”  See what I mean?  They were “annoying” to a teen because they made me have to really think and wrestle.  It felt like my teen brain already hurt from too much thinking.

Now I know how critical the questions were and still are today.  God sees in us the divine gifts that have been given, and calls them forth from us.  If we listen, ask, and act we may discover things about our selves we never imagined possible.  We may find our selves on some path we never imagined.  We may find our selves engaged in God’s service in ways we never imagined.

“We have different gifts, according to the grace given us.”  Amen!  I believe those gifts are waiting for us to use them in the service of God’s kingdom.  I pray that God will always help me continue to ask my mother’s two “annoying” questions and act on the answers that are revealed.  How about you?

Help save lives! For more information on my new book, “A Relentless Hope: Surviving the Storm of Teen Depression,” visit http://www.survivingteendepression.com.

Check out my new video, “Teens Surviving the Storm”

~ by revgenelson on October 14, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
