Trust

“…trust in you.”


photo

“When I am afraid, O Lord Almighty, I put my trust in you.”
(Psalm 56:3)

Sometimes trust is easy, sometimes it’s difficult.  A variety of situations have resulted in “trust” being the focus of the day for me.  How fitting, then, that my day should end with a tremendous test of trust.  Patti and I are in Chicago today and tomorrow so I can give a seminar on “teen depression” for the Illinois chapter of the National Association of Social Workers.  We made a test run into the city this evening to scout out things and prepare for tomorrow.  We walked around the block from the seminar venue and rode the express elevator to the top of the Willis Tower (formerly the Sears Tower).  At the observation level on the 103rd floor they have a rather unique experience.  Extending about four feet from the side of the building are 4 glass boxes.  The picture above shows my feet (and the rest of me) separated from the street about 1300 feet below by 1 1/2 inches of glass.  I am not a fan of heights!  It took all the trust I could muster to inch my way out into the box and snap some photos!  Sometimes trust is easy — and sometimes it is extremely difficult!

photo

Trust is also precious.  We are most aware of it’s value when we find it so difficult to trust.  I envied the people with me on the observation platform who could just waltz out into the glass box, sit for a picture, and take joy in the sense of almost floating above the city.  For me it was a teeth-gritting moment, but one I was determined to experience.

I’m not sure of the origin of my mistrust of heights.  However, I know that many folks find it difficult to trust others because they have been betrayed and hurt one too many times.  Sometimes just one betrayal can be enough to leave scars deep enough to make trusting others an experience just as teeth-gritting or worse than my few moments this evening.  Trust is precious.  Trust can be lost.  Trust can be regained.  However, the wounds and scars can be horrific.  We need to be so careful not to cause another to lose trust.

The psalmist reminds us that God is the one to whom we should turn when we’re afraid.  It’s God’s consistent caring that makes this trust in divine help possible.  That’s what I celebrate and that’s what I count on.  I pray that God will help me be consistent in caring, and careful not to hurt in ways that might destroy an others trust.  How about you?

Blessings and Peace,
Gary
Pastor, Sand Hill United Methodist Church
Boaz, West Virginia

Help save lives! For more information on my new book, “A Relentless Hope: Surviving the Storm of Teen Depression,” visit www.survivingteendepression.com.

Check out my new video, “Teens Surviving the Storm”
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o1hSpxC_G24

~ by revgenelson on November 20, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
