Waiting

…wait…

photo


“But I will watch for the Lord; I will wait confidently for God, who will save me.  My God will hear me.” (Micah 7:7)

Advent involves a lot of waiting.  That’s exactly what this little fellow was up to — waiting among my Christmas lights for me to leave so it could swoop down and snarf up a few sunflowers seeds in my feeder.  We wait for the big day, we wait for the parties, we wait for the gifts, we wait… for God?

For years I’ve taught and preached about waiting for God to surprise us, challenge us, and save us.  Especially during Advent as we retell the story of God acting in Christ, we’re reminded of the need to wait for God to speak to our need – our need for hope, our need for forgiveness, our need for peace.

This Advent I find myself not just wondering about our waiting for God, but also, God’s waiting for us.  God is waiting for us to open ourselves to all the ways God’s Spirit might be waiting to move with us and through us.  Talk about exciting!  But wait, there’s more… I also think God is waiting for us to come to our senses!

Some things are almost impossible to do at the same time.  It’s impossible to smile and frown at the same time.  It’s impossible to hate and hold the Christ child at the same time.  It’s impossible to ignore those in need of help and hold the Christ child at the same time.

We wait for the Christ child once more to bring God’s Light into our darkness.  God waits for us to come to our senses and realize we cannot embrace this Child and ignore our “neighbors” at the same time.  We can only truly embrace this Child if we also embrace one another by seeking peace and justice for all.

As I wait for this Christmas I pray that God will challenge and prepare me to embrace the Christ child by repenting, then seeking peace and justice.  How about you?

Blessings and Peace,
Gary
Pastor, Sand Hill United Methodist Church
Boaz, West Virginia

Help save lives! For more information on my new book, “A Relentless Hope: Surviving the Storm of Teen Depression,” visit http://www.survivingteendepression.com.

Check out my new video, “Teens Surviving the Storm”

~ by revgenelson on December 15, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
