Invisible

“…invisible…”
photo

“Ever since God created the world, his invisible qualities, both his eternal power and his divine nature, have been clearly seen; they are perceived in the things that God has made.”  (Romans 1:20)

Believe it or not, this is a picture of a woman standing in front of the old courthouse building in colonial Williamsburg, VA.  More accurately, this is a picture of a woman dressed in a colonial dress and hat walking from the right side of the picture and stopping at the front door.  She’s carrying a lantern with a candle burning inside.

The picture was created a little differently than most.  The street was in almost total darkness when the picture was taken.  The camera was sitting on a tripod to keep it steady while the shutter was allowed to stay open for about 5 seconds, just enough time for the woman to come from around the right side of the building and walk in front of my camera.  The photo is not “doctored” or “photo-shopped” in any way.  What you see in the photo is exactly what the camera saw in the darkness.  The evidence of the woman’s presence is clear in the bright trail of light from her lantern, even though the rest of her is invisible.  I was amazed when I saw the finished photo.

I agree with Paul when he wrote in Romans that God’s, “invisible qualities, both his eternal power and his divine nature, have been clearly seen; they are perceived in the things that God has made.”  The woman in the photo is invisible but her presence is indisputable in the brightness of the light she carries.  Sometimes I find myself too focused on what I can’t see – like the solution to a problem, the outcome of some dilemma, the reason for some confusion or hurt…  That sort of focus can lead to more confusion, frustration, and even doubt.  If I remain focused on what I can’t see for too long, then eventually the questions might even become, “So where is God in all of this anyway?” or “Does God even care?” or “Does God even exist?”

Especially in those difficult times I find the need to pull my focus back to what I can see — the evidence of God’s presence in the miracles around me — the beauty of creation and the wonder of shared love.  I can’t see the woman in the photo but I can sure see her light!  She’s really there, no doubt about it!  That light didn’t move by itself.  I may not be able to see the outcome to my present dilemma, but I can see the hand of God at work in so many other ways and times in my life.

There is a lot of God’s presence to be known and shared if we focus more on what we can see instead of what we can’t.  I pray that God will remind me to look for the presence of divine love all around me.  How about you?

Blessings and Peace,
Gary
Pastor, Sand Hill United Methodist Church
Boaz, West Virginia

Help save lives! For more information on my new book, “A Relentless Hope: Surviving the Storm of Teen Depression,” visit http://www.survivingteendepression.com.

Check out my new video, “Teens Surviving the Storm”
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o1hSpxC_G24
~ by revgenelson on September 28, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
