Mere Mortals

“…mere mortals…”

“When I look at the sky, which you have made, at the moon and the stars, which you set in their places—
what are human beings, that you think of them; mere mortals, that you care for them?  Yet you made
them inferior only to yourself; you crowned them with glory and honor.”  (Psalm 8:3-5)

It’s almost midnight but I found that I could not finish this day without “wondering.”  I could not conclude one of the most important days of my life without reflecting upon it’s impact on my spiritual journey.  I could not end this day without saying, “Thank you, God!”  At 3:30 this morning Patti and I received the telephone call from our daughter-in-law letting us know that her and our son’s first child (and our first grandchild) was about to be born.  We jumped in our car and drove the six hours to the hospital, missing the birth of Reese Victoria, but arriving in time for many other “firsts.”  Needless to say, it has been an exhilarating day! 

I couldn’t help but think about Psalm 8 as I watched our granddaughter with her parents.  There was nothing “mere” about this child or moment!  I believe that’s exactly what the Psalmist was trying to remind us.  How can anyone be part of such an event and not be swept up in the grandeur and glory of God that we are privileged to glimpse from time to time?  Today, once more, I stared into the face of a newborn and saw reflected back the majesty and wonder of the Divine.  This time instead of one of my own newborn children, it was my grandchild.  It feels really good to write that so allow me to indulge myself by writing it one more time — my grandchild!

It is also a privilege to see my granddaughter bathed and held in the same love by her parents that we have given her parents.  We live in a world where we’re keenly aware of the mistakes we make.  I know Patti and I have made our share as parents.  However, as I watched our son and daughter-in-law today, I was blessed to see some of what we apparently got right.  It made me smile, laugh, and cry for joy.  I know as Christians we spend a lot of time reflecting on our failures and need for forgiveness, as we should.  However, I believe there are a lot of times when God is smiling because God sees us loving like we’ve been loved in Christ!  That’s a lot to celebrate! 

I pray that God will help me continue to appreciate and celebrate all the times we get it right together and love like we’ve been loved in Christ!  How about you?

Blessings and Peace,
Gary
Pastor, Sand Hill United Methodist Church
Boaz, West Virginia

 
Help save lives! For more information on my new book, “A Relentless Hope: Surviving the Storm of Teen Depression,” visit www.survivingteendepression.com.

Check out my new video, “Teens Surviving the Storm”

~ by revgenelson on May 30, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
