New Thing

“Watch for the new thing…”
 
photo

“Watch for the new thing I am going to do. It is happening already—you can see it now! I will make a road through the wilderness and give you streams of water there.”  (Isaiah 43:19)

 
So what now?  Ever have that feeling?  This is one of the last of way too many boxes that I’ve taped and opened to prepare for filling.  With each one I’ve had that same thought – “So what now?”  The emptiness of the boxes reminds me of the unknown we face each time we make a transition.  I’m writing this as I spend the last few hours as pastor of Sand Hill United Methodist Church.  Next week when I write I’ll be the pastor of Cross Lanes United Methodist Church. 

The unknown in our transitions can illicit a variety of responses, everything from fear to excitement.  It’s easy for transitions to evoke our fear, and with it our prejudices, hurt, paralysis, and even anger.  When we stare into the empty box and see only emptiness our fear can cause us to  hurt our selves and others and miss the opportunities that might be awaiting.  Our fear dictates the future.

When the prophet Isaiah and the Israelites looked into the empty box of their future God spoke to their fear by saying, “Watch for the new thing I am going to do.”  There is another response to the empty box rather than fear.  It’s faith.  We can look into the box and wonder what new things God is ready to do for us and through us.  In that response, faith dictates the future. 

I pray that God will help me respond to all the empty boxes in my life with faith instead of fear.  How about you?

Blessings and Peace,
Gary
Pastor, Sand Hill United Methodist Church
Boaz, West Virginia

Help save lives! For more information on my new book, “A Relentless Hope: Surviving the Storm of Teen Depression,” visit www.survivingteendepression.com.

Check out my new video, “Teens Surviving the Storm”
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o1hSpxC_G24
~ by revgenelson on June 26, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
