Now you see it, now you don’t…

“What can be seen lasts only for a time . . .”

photo

“For we fix our attention, not on things that are seen, but on things that are unseen. What can be seen lasts only for a time, but what cannot be seen lasts forever.” (II Corinthians 4:17-18)
Wow, playing with four mallets at the same!  That always amazes me.  The marimba is a beautiful sounding instrument when the mallets strike the bars of wood and release the melodic tones trapped within each bar.  I watched this particular artist with my camera and let the lens remain open to catch the movement of the mallets.
As the mallets moved faster and faster they quickly began to disappear –

photo

until finally, the mallets were almost invisible, but the sweet sounds of the wooden bars wove their way into delicious, melodious joy.

photo

In this season after Pentecost my thoughts are drawn to the work of God’s Spirit.  Unseen, the Spirit works its way with us to produce so many fruits, including love, joy, and peace.  Sometimes I think it’s difficult to allow God’s Spirit to work through us because we are so attuned to wanting to know the who, where, when, and how of everything.  How boring!  I’ve become more okay with allowing the Spirit to work on me and through me without always having to understand.  That can be very exciting, almost like starting out on a journey with no particular destination in mind.  Now that’s a road trip to remember!

 

 

 

Maybe it’s time to push off from the side of the river bank and allow God’s Spirit to carry you to destinations unknown.  Maybe it’s time to focus on the unseen – God’s Holy Spirit waiting to draw forth from us joyous melodies that we never knew we had in us.  Maybe it’s time to pray, “God, let your Spirit surprise me and use me.  I’m ready and waiting.”  That’s my prayer.  How about you?

Blessings and Peace,
Gary
Pastor, Cross Lanes United Methodist Church
Cross Lanes, West Virginia

Help save lives! For more information on my book, “A Relentless Hope: Surviving the Storm of Teen Depression,” visit http://www.survivingteendepression.com.

My new book, “Wednesday Wonderings: Spiritual Journaling Through a Lens” is available at http://www.wipfandstock.com and http://www.amazon.com.
Check out my video, “Teens Surviving the Storm”
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o1hSpxC_G24
~ by revgenelson on May 22, 2013.

One Response to “Now you see it, now you don’t…”

  1. Hi! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if that would be ok. I’m definitely enjoying your blog and
    look forward to new updates.

Leave a Reply

 
