Who Do You Think You Are?

“Who do you think you are . . .”

 photo
“God is the only lawgiver and judge. He alone can save and destroy. Who do you think you are, to judge someone else?” (James 4:11-13)
Well . . . it’s blueberry season so I bought some blueberries at the store and was enjoying them yesterday evening.  I was popping one or two at a time in my mouth as I was watching a little television in a dimly lit room.  I glanced at the blueberries left in the container and noticed one of them seemed to have two green stems on it.  For some reason that escapes me now I got up with the blueberries in my hand and walked into the kitchen where the light was brighter.  I glanced down at the blueberries and noticed it was not a pair of stems I was seeing.  “Just who do you think you are, you little worm, eating my blueberries and destroying my blissfulness?”  (You see, the disturbance made me have to really, really check the blueberries I put on my cereal this morning.  No more just pouring them on . . .)”Who do you think you are?” is a very interesting question.  It implies, if I ask you, that somehow I think you’re just a little too big for your britches.  In my case with the worm it meant I believed I was right and he was wrong – he was in my blueberry and didn’t belong!  Wait a minute, what if the worm saw it the other way – that I was messing with his blueberry?  Seems like as soon as we step forth to judge the other we have made some important assumptions about who we think we are.  We certainly must think that our take on the situation is right and the other person’s is wrong.

Maybe we need to look in the mirror each morning and ask our selves, “Who do you think you are?” How would you answer that? Maybe if we asked it would humble us enough to listen more, try to understand more, be empathic more, and judge less.  Maybe it would help us give more and judge less because if we started each day by asking,”Who do you think you are?” and answered with, “I’m a vulnerable child of God who is only one heartbeat away from some crisis or situation that could change my life forever,” we might be more inclined to serving instead of judging.  Maybe we’d be more ready to help look for solutions to the suffering of others instead of hiding by justifications like,  “We shouldn’t help because it’s their own fault.”  Who do we think we are?

God can call us to wonder in lots of different ways – even with a little worm.  I pray that God will help me look in the mirror each day and ask, “Who do you think you are?” and then answer with, “I am a child of God in need of Christ’s amazing grace,” the same grace others also need.  How about you?

Blessings and Peace,
Gary
Pastor, Cross Lanes United Methodist Church
Cross Lanes, West Virginia

Help save lives! For more information on my book, “A Relentless Hope: Surviving the Storm of Teen Depression,” visit http://www.survivingteendepression.com.

My new book, “Wednesday Wonderings: Spiritual Journaling Through a Lens” is available at http://www.wipfandstock.com and http://www.amazon.com.
Check out my video, “Teens Surviving the Storm”
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o1hSpxC_G24
~ by revgenelson on July 4, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
