I Wish I Had Wings

“I wish I had wings . . .”
 
“I wish I had wings like a dove.  I would fly away and find rest.  I would fly far away and make my home in the desert.  I would hurry and find myself a shelter from the raging wind and the storm . . . My former companion attacked his friends; he broke his promises.  His words were smoother than cream, but there was hatred in his heart; his words were as soothing as oil, but they cut like sharp swords.”  (Psalm 55:6-8 & 20-21)
 

This is Francis.  I met him this past Saturday at a park in Huntington, WV where I had another teen depression table for a suicide survivors’ walk.  Francis was busy entertaining the young folks by sitting on their hands and heads, and walking about when his master put him down.  Francis would even pretend to fly.  His owner would put him on his hand, move him up and down, and Francis would spread his wings like he was going to fly away.  The problem was that his wings were clipped so Francis couldn’t really fly off into the heavens. 

Haven’t you ever yearned to have wings?  Maybe you’ve wished for wings so you could soar to unimaginable heights and see things from a totally different perspective.  Maybe you’ve wished for wings so you could feel the freedom of being unleashed from our earthly bounds.  Or maybe (like the psalmist in the passage above) you’ve wished for wings so you could escape from some terrible pain and suffering.  The psalmist wants to escape the horrible misery of having been betrayed by a close companion.  All kinds of suffering – physical, emotional, spiritual, relational, and more can cause us to want to escape – to somehow be transported away from suffering and break the stifling grasp of its clutches. 

Sometimes escape is an option, an option that should be exercised if necessary.  For example, unhealthy, hurtful, abusive relationships demand escape.  We need the wings of God’s Spirit to help us escape to a healthier environment.  Sometimes escape is not an option and we need the inspiration of God’s Spirit to get us through.  When it becomes apparent in times of suffering that escape is not an option it seems to me that we face a critical choice.  We either lapse into despair or ask God to give us gifts other than wings, like hope, patience, endurance, creativity, and ingenuity, just to name a few.  At this point in my life I find myself frequently repeating a simple phrase, “God has brought us through and God will get us through.” 

The older I get and the more I see and experience the more I feel I appreciate the suffering of Jesus.  The gospels spend a lot of time talking about the teachings and miracles of Jesus but devote relatively little time to Jesus’ suffering.  However, at this stage in my life, I am drawn time and time again to the reality that Jesus chose not to mount up on the wings of angels and rise above suffering, but rather to know suffering – and God brought him through.  

I pray that in times of suffering I will be able to remember, “God has brought me through and God will get me through,” and offer the same hope to others.  How about you?

Blessings and Peace,
Gary
Pastor, Cross Lanes United Methodist Church
Cross Lanes, West Virginia

Help save lives! For more information on my book, “A Relentless Hope: Surviving the Storm of Teen Depression,” visit http://www.survivingteendepression.com.
 
My new book, “Wednesday Wonderings: Spiritual Journaling Through a Lens” is available at http://www.wipfandstock.com and http://www.amazon.com.

Check out my video, “Teens Surviving the Storm”
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o1hSpxC_G24
~ by revgenelson on September 11, 2013.

One Response to “I Wish I Had Wings”

  1. Words can’t describe how much i love this .

Leave a Reply

 
