Fit Together

“. . . parts of the body fit together . . .”

 


 

“Under his (Christ’s) control all the different parts of the body fit together, and the whole body is held together by every joint with which it is provided. So when each separate part works as it should, the whole body grows and builds itself up through love.” (Ephesians 4:16)

Yesterday evening I spoke on teen depression at a community meeting a couple of hours away.  I arrived a little early so I killed time by wandering around some old cabins taking pictures.  I was especially drawn to the dovetail joints on this cabin.  Now, I’ve managed to build or help build quite a few things in my life.  I’ve laid enough 2 X 4’s on top of one another and nailed them together to know that it’s a fairly fast and easy process.  However, as I noted the intricacy of the joints on this cabin I realized just how time consuming a process this must have been.  Great care and attention had to be given to the shaping of each beam so that the corners fit snugly together.  The result was a joint and building far sturdier than anything I’ve ever built with nails and pre-cut 2 X 4’s. 

The picture got me thinking about relationships and their fit.  At some level we all yearn to be in relationships where there’s a good fit.  We crave the comfort that comes from shaping lasting, loving relationships.  When we know the fit is sure, strong, and lasting it gives us the trust and strength to deal with many of the difficulties life throws our way.  This cabin has probably withstood many a storm because of the fit of those corner joints.  I wouldn’t be surprised to find that it could withstand the force of a hurricane. 

There are no shortcuts to lasting relationships.  Dovetail joints are required, not hastily nailed together corners.  Partners in relationships must be shaped by love to achieve the amazing fit that offers strength, comfort, and longevity.  To be shaped by love means I have to allow myself to be changed as I grow to know my partner, whether that be a spouse, a friend,  or even God.  When we enter into a personal relationship we maintain our basic integrity, but I believe it’s essential that we allow ourselves to be shaped by love as we know the other so that we might achieve that dovetail fit.  It might seem radical to some to think that we are shaped by the other, but I believe it’s critical to the success of the relationship. 

I pray that I might give myself to Christ’s will so that I might continue to be lovingly shaped to fit in relationships.  How about you?

Blessings and Peace,
Gary
Pastor, Cross Lanes United Methodist Church
Cross Lanes, West Virginia

Help save lives! For more information on my book, “A Relentless Hope: Surviving the Storm of Teen Depression,” visit http://www.survivingteendepression.com.



My new book, “Wednesday Wonderings: Spiritual Journaling Through a Lens” is available at http://www.wipfandstock.com and http://www.amazon.com.

 

 

Check out my video, “Teens Surviving the Storm”
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o1hSpxC_G24
~ by revgenelson on September 25, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
