Bring in the Harvest

 

“. . . bring in the harvest.”
 
 
“Those who wept as they went out carrying the seedwill come back singing for joy, as they bring in the harvest.” (Psalm 126:6)

A trip to the farmer’s market this week resulted in this photo.  The farmers’ bins were full of pumpkins, gourds, apples, peaches, tomatoes, green beans, potatoes, peppers, and other assorted fruits, vegetables, and flowers.  What an amazing harvest!  Their hard work in the planting season had resulted in great rewards, some of which came home in the back of my car. 

Sometimes it feels like a long time between the planting of the seeds and the reaping of the harvest.  I remember when I started as a pastoral counselor in northern Virginia.  I was invited to join the inter-faith counseling group while I was finishing school in Boston.  When I arrived in Virginia I discovered that I had no clietns to see.  Since I was to be paid a percentage of the fees I charged clients, no clients meant no income.  I began doing all sorts of presentations in local churches as a means of building a caseload.  After each one I’d think, “Now next week I’ll see some new clients from this.”  Much to my dismay, that seldom happened.  It was pretty disheartening, yet little by little my caseload began to build – but not from the presentations even though I kept doing them.  Then several months later someone walked into my office and said, “I’m here because I need help and you gave that presentation at my church about a year ago.”  That statement was repeated many times in the sixteen years I worked as a pastoral counselor in northern Virginia.  Then I realized that I had been planting seeds in those presentations, even though it seemed like a long time between the planting and the harvest.

There are many times in our lives when we might not feel like planting seeds, be they seeds of love, seeds of hope, seeds of justice, etc.  Our feelings might try to convince us that planting the seeds of the end result we desire might be useless or even ludicrous given our circumstances.  However, if seeds are not sown there can be no harvest.  When the psalmist says, “Those who wept as they went out carrying the seedwill come back singing for joy, as they bring in the harvest, he’s testifying to God’s power to help those who did not feel like planting to plant anyway.  Planting when we don’t feel like planting can be pretty difficult.  Planting may be the last thing we want to do yet also be the very thing we’d better do if we want something different than the present.  In those difficult planting times we especially need the encouragement of one another and the support of a loving and faithful God.

There are many times when I don’t feel like planting whatever seeds I know are necessary for the outcome I desire.  I think it’s a natural experience we all share from time to time.  I pray that when I don’t feel like planting God will give me the faith and nudge to plant anyway.  How about you?

Blessings and Peace,
Gary
Pastor, Cross Lanes United Methodist Church
Cross Lanes, West Virginia

Help save lives! For more information on my book, “A Relentless Hope: Surviving the Storm of Teen Depression,” visit http://www.survivingteendepression.com.
 
My new book, “Wednesday Wonderings: Spiritual Journaling Through a Lens” is available at http://www.wipfandstock.com and http://www.amazon.com.

Check out my video, “Teens Surviving the Storm”
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o1hSpxC_G24
 
 
 
~ by revgenelson on October 2, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
