A Little Child Shall Lead

“. . . a little child shall lead them.”

“The wolf shall live with the lamb, the leopard shall lie down with the kid, the calf and the lion and the fatling together,
 and a little child shall lead them.” (Isaiah 11:6)


Patti and I are on vacation this week visiting our family.  Monday our granddaughter took us to the zoo.  All my life, since I was a small child, I’ve been told that kangaroo mothers carry their babies in a special pouch on their belly.  I’ve always taken it in faith – until now.  Monday I saw it for the first time with my own eyes – thanks to my granddaughter, and I was blown away.  What a wondrous thing to behold!Yesterday my granddaughter taught me a new ball-throwing game.  I thought I was the one doing the teaching, but then, I stopped to observe and realized this 17 month-old was making up a new game as we played.  I caught on, followed her lead, and we had a joyous time together!  I love the opportunity to play with and learn from children.  It’s not complicated – but important.  It helps me turn off a lot of the adult stuff that clouds my brain and just focus on seeing and being like a child.  I think this is a form of sabbath.  I suspect this is part of what God wants from us – to clear our minds of the cloud, and remember that we are at heart God’s children.  Thanks be to God!  That’s it for this week – not a whole lot.  It’s time to play!

I pray that when the cloud gets too thick, God will send a child to lead me.  How about you?

Blessings and Peace,
Gary
Pastor, Cross Lanes United Methodist Church
Cross Lanes, West Virginia

Help save lives! For more information on my book, “A Relentless Hope: Surviving the Storm of Teen Depression,” visit http://www.survivingteendepression.com.


My new book, “Wednesday Wonderings: Spiritual Journaling Through a Lens” is available at http://www.wipfandstock.com and http://www.amazon.com.
Check out my video, “Teens Surviving the Storm”
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o1hSpxC_G24
~ by revgenelson on October 17, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
