It Is Better To Be Patient

“It is better to be patient . . .”

“It is better to be patient than powerful. It is better to win control over yourself than over whole cities.” (Proverbs 16:32)

It’s been a beautiful fall season, one that Patti and I have been blessed to enjoy both in Maine and here at home in West Virginia.  This week she pointed out to me that one of the trees in our front yard is completely bare of leaves while all the other trees have retained a lot of their leaves, gradually offering a few to each passing gust of wind.  It got me to thinking . . .  So, are you a “rip the band aid off all at once” kind of person or are you more of a “peel it gradually and gently” sort?I, like most men, am a fixer.  When I see something or someone that is broken I want to fix things.  Let’s rip that bad aid off, get to the bottom of the problem, and get things rolling again.  Why wait?  If I can see the problem and have some sense of how it needs fixing, why not get right down to it?  Over the course of my years in parish and counseling ministry I’ve seen many situations and many persons with problems that have needed to be solved.  I’ve encountered the same dilemma as a parent.  I can see the problem and a solution, why won’t you let me fix it?

Yet somewhere along the way God taught me a critical lesson – “It is better to be patient than powerful.”  I’ve learned that I need to respect that folks need to take things at their own pace.  Even if I can see the problem and solution it’s often best that I wait for them to identify the problem and show me their plan.  Then I try to help them move along their path instead of dragging them along mine.  It’s not easy for me.  I’ve got a lot of holes in my lip that I’ve bitten in efforts to be patient.  It’s not easy, but it’s important.  Each and every day I fight the battle to be patient instead of powerful, but in the end I’m convinced it’s patience that Jesus would have me seek as a servant of God’s kingdom.

I pray that every day God will help me continue to seek patience over power.  How about you?

Blessings and Peace,
Gary
Pastor, Cross Lanes United Methodist Church
Cross Lanes, West Virginia

 

Help save lives! For more information on my book, “A Relentless Hope: Surviving the Storm of Teen Depression,” visit http://www.survivingteendepression.com.



My new book, “Wednesday Wonderings: Spiritual Journaling Through a Lens” is available at http://www.wipfandstock.com and http://www.amazon.com.
Check out my video, “Teens Surviving the Storm”
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o1hSpxC_G24
~ by revgenelson on November 6, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
