What’s Wrong With This Picture?

 

“. . . you will find rest.”
 
“Come to me, all of you who are tired from carrying heavy loads, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke and put it on you, and learn from me, because I am gentle and humble in spirit; and you will find rest. For the yoke I will give you is easy, and the load I will put on you is light.” (Matthew 11:28-29)

Ever heard the phrase, “What’s wrong with this picture?”  Seems like it applies to this photo I took recently.  I was walking through a restaurant and just happened to catch this view at the corner of the building overlooking the lake.  I thought water and gravity were a sure thing, meaning water drips down – not sideways.  Add in some bitter cold and blustery winds and things just don’t seem to work the way one would expect in this photo.  The icicle is bent sideways!  If we can’t count on gravity to stand its ground then what can we count on?

I guess the truth of the matter is that even a force as strong as gravity can be partially overcome at times.  Parachutes and wind can alter gravity’s effect on a falling body by slowing the expected fall.  Drop a heavy bomb from the sky and a powerful, complicated chemical reaction can blow heavy objects upward and outward instead of the object simply falling downward.  Even though some forces can alter the effects of gravity we still count on gravity to do it’s part.  Imagine what would happen if you flew in an airplane to the predetermined altitude, stepped out of the airplane with your parachute, and suddenly someone switched off gravity.   Would you ever be able to return to earth?

Maybe love in our relationships can be compared to gravity.  We need the love we share with another to be the powerful, grounding force in our loves together.  We can count on it.  Maybe it gets pushed around sometimes but we can still count on it.  For example, I’m thinking of occasions when we have to share upsetting or disappointing news with someone we love.  Hopefully they can be counted on to love us in spite of the news we need to share.  They’re initial reaction to our news might make it seem as though the love we’re counting on is somewhat bending (even breaking), but hopefully the reliability and constancy of their love will prevail.  Though blown about by the reaction of disappointment or hurt the love in the relationship will eventually bring us back to earth in their loving embrace. 

There are many places in the Old and New Testament where the constancy of God’s love is proclaimed.  This revelation by Jesus,
“Come to me, all of you who are tired from carrying heavy loads, and I will give you rest,” is just one of those for me.  I can almost imagine stumbling toward Jesus, barely carrying my heavy load, then dumping it into his outstretched arms.  Maybe at first he stumbles or staggers as the huge burden I’ve unloaded is shifted to him, but then he lifts the burden high over his head and heaves it to the side so he can welcome me in his arms, offering the rest and assurance I desperately need.  I pray that God will help my love for another be constant when they need me.  How about you?

Blessings and Peace,
Gary
Pastor, Cross Lanes United Methodist Church
Cross Lanes, West Virginia

 
Help save lives! For more information on my book, “A Relentless Hope: Surviving the Storm of Teen Depression,” visit http://www.survivingteendepression.com.


My new book, “Wednesday Wonderings: Spiritual Journaling Through a Lens” is available at http://www.wipfandstock.com and http://www.amazon.com.

 
Check out my video, “Teens Surviving the Storm”
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o1hSpxC_G24
~ by revgenelson on January 29, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
