Teach and Learn

“Teach and instruct one another . . .”

“Christ’s message in all its richness must live in your hearts. Teach and instruct one another with all wisdom. Sing psalms, hymns, and sacred songs; sing to God with thanksgiving in your hearts.” (Colossians 3:15-17)“Look it’s easy.  Here’s how the dance goes.  Step 1-2, then hop 1- 2.  You can do it . . .”  That’s probably not exactly what this seagull had in mind today but at this time of night, halfway through a mission week with our youth in Boston and the north shore of Massachusetts, that’s where my brain takes me – to weird places.  The truth is that the seagulls actually remind me of all the teaching and learning that’s been going on this week.  I’ve watched as youth have learned how to step outside of their comfort zones and offer food and care to the homeless and impoverished.  I’ve watched as our youth have been taught by folks in recovery from disastrous decisions and crises in their lives about grace and hope.  I’ve watched as older youth have taught younger youth about belonging and fellowship.  I’ve watched, I’ve learned, and I’m grateful for how I’m being blessed throughout the week.  It’s a sacred privilege to be part of the teaching and the learning.

I pray that God  will help me survive the week (no that’s not quite what I meant to say).  I pray that God will continue to use me to teach, and help me to learn about God’s amazing grace and hope.  How about you?

Blessings and Peace,
Gary
Pastor, Cross Lanes United Methodist Church
Cross Lanes, West Virginia

 

 

Help save lives! For more information on my book, “A Relentless Hope: Surviving the Storm of Teen Depression,” visit http://www.survivingteendepression.com.



My new book, “Wednesday Wonderings: Spiritual Journaling Through a Lens” is available at http://www.wipfandstock.com and http://www.amazon.com.

 

 

Check out my video, “Teens Surviving the Storm”
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o1hSpxC_G24
~ by revgenelson on June 5, 2014.

One Response to “Teach and Learn”

  1. It’s awesome to go to see this web site and reading the views of all friends on the topic of this piece of writing, while I am also eager
    of getting familiarity.

Leave a Reply

 
