Strength

“. . . my strength . . .”

IMG_1182
“My mind and my body may grow weak, but God is my strength; he is all I ever need.” (Psalm 73:23)

I was walking up the church sidewalk a few days ago when I noticed this amazing feat of strength. We have a group of folks in our church who do a marvelous job of tending the various flowerbeds around our building. Their care for all the flowers and shrubs includes placing a new layer of mulch each spring. The mulch gets spread and then trampled on, forming a pretty thick, tightly compacted layer of deterrence for invasive weeds. However, this little guy was totally undeterred. With a Popeye-ish burst he broke through the barrier and claimed his space in the garden.

Weeds get a bad rap – especially in the Bible. Everywhere I find weeds mentioned in the scriptures they’re used with a negative connotation. Weeds are the challenge for a good harvest. Weeds represent the results of destruction and lack of attention. Weeds represent negative living. You see what I mean, and yet, I am a fan of weeds.

Weeds can grow practically anywhere and everywhere. I’ve especially admired weeds that have grown in the tiniest of cracks with little or practically no soil. I once let a huge thistle weed grow in a crack in the cement right in front of our patio to a height of four feet, because I was so taken by its perseverance and tenacity. When we lived on the coast of Massachusetts where the soil for our lawn was mainly sand I had a, “If it’s green it grows!” policy. That meant that weeds were welcomed because they were about the only thing that would grow in the lawn to mow.

I guess this weed in my photo just reminded me of all the times I’ve felt I had little or no strength to push through – and God got me through. That’s it. Pretty simple, really. I can look back in my life and see times when I know I was barely holding my head above water. I can look back and see many times when physically, emotionally, and spiritually I was barely putting one foot in front of the other, and God gave me the strength to get through. I suspect there will be more strenuous challenges in my future. I suspect there will be times when I will wonder how I’ll make it through. During those times I will try to remember how God gave me strength when there was none I could muster, and have faith that God’s strength will come again. When I find myself facing the mulch of life that would threaten to suffocate me, I pray that God will give me the strength of a weed. How about you?

Blessings and Peace,
Gary
Pastor, Cross Lanes United Methodist Church
Cross Lanes, West Virginia

Help save lives! For more information on my book, “A Relentless Hope: Surviving the Storm of Teen Depression,” visit http://www.survivingteendepression.com.

My new book, “Wednesday Wonderings: Spiritual Journaling Through a Lens” is available at http://www.wipfandstock.com and http://www.amazon.com.
Check out my video, “Teens Surviving the Storm”
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o1hSpxC_G24IMG_1182

~ by revgenelson on July 16, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
