To Be Noticed

“. . . saw them . . .”


“He (Jesus) was going into a village when he was met by ten men suffering from a dreaded skin disease. They stood at a distance and shouted, ‘Jesus! Master! Have pity on us!’  Jesus saw them and said to them, ‘Go and let the priests examine you.’

On the way they were made clean.

People ask me how I arrive at subjects and thoughts for Wednesday Wonderings.  The truth is I don’t go looking for them, it’s more like they come looking for me.  Sometimes I even half-jokingly wonder if God throws something out there just to see if I’ll notice.  Take last Wednesday for example.  I was pulling out of our driveway at home when I noticed something white on the pavement right behind our other car parked in the driveway.  I pulled back in the driveway and got out to look.  What in the world . . . ?

I still haven’t figured out what it is or how it arrived in our driveway, but I know it’s something interesting that will now reside with my other treasures on a shelf in my office for the curious to hold and behold.  Any ideas?

To notice something or someone can be an incredibly important moment for both the noticer and the noticed, especially if it’s a person noticing another person.  In the scripture passage above it says that the men called out to Jesus but the next move was his.  Would he choose to notice them or not?  It says, “he saw them,” and then engaged them, an encounter that ultimately resulted in their being healed and the love of God in Christ once more being proclaimed.  Believe it or not noticing (actually taking note of someone) requires a choice.  To truly notice another requires that we be willing to stop our agenda long enough to allow the noticed one and their needs to become known to us. 

It’s easy for us not to notice.  Maybe we see another but choose not to really see or allow ourselves to notice them.  Maybe we see that tear in the corner of their eye but change the subject before we allow ourselves to truly take in their hurt or concern.  Maybe we see a person or persons in desperate need for some sort of help but we pass on by, actually ignoring or refusing to really stop to notice them.  In many cases we refuse to notice because we’re afraid of the next step – figuring out what to do or how to help.  By failing to notice we really send the message, “I don’t care,” whether we mean to or not.  Which message would you rather hear if you were hurting, “I don’t care,” or “I care and I’m not sure how to help, but I’m here with you?”

Like I said, the moment of truly being noticed is an important encounter for the noticer and the noticed.  For the noticer it means an opportunity to share in the love of God, even if the needs of the noticed seem overwhelming and no immediate solution is on the horizon.  For the noticed it also means a sharing in the love of God.  My advice from experience is to try to never miss the opportunity to notice.  We can figure the rest out with God as we go along.  I pray that God will continue to help me to truly notice others, and be ready to figure out the rest as we go along.

Blessings and Peace,

Gary

Pastor, Cross Lanes United Methodist Church

Cross Lanes, West Virginia

Help save lives! For more information on my book, “A Relentless Hope: Surviving the Storm of Teen Depression,” visit http://www.survivingteendepression.com.



My new book, “Wednesday Wonderings: Spiritual Journaling Through a Lens” is available at http://www.wipfandstock.com and http://www.amazon.com.
Check out my video, “Teens Surviving the Storm”
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o1hSpxC_G24
~ by revgenelson on September 17, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
