I Will Help You Speak

“I will help you to speak . . .”
“Now, go! I will help you to speak, and I will tell you what to say.” (Exodus 4:12)
I’m in my sixth year of writing Wednesday Wonderings so folks have become alerted to how it works.  Now when folks see me taking a picture they say,”I’ll bet that will be next week’s Wednesday Wonderings,” or, “Go tell Pastor Gary he’s got to come and take a picture of this.  It could be a Wednesday Wonderings.”  Such was the case when the cooks in the church kitchen found this amazing ear of corn with actually two ears of corn inside the shucks.  “Go tell Pastor Gary . . .”

Telling is a very important action, whether it’s telling another person about something amazing, something that makes you feel really good, or something that’s really bad.  Telling can change a life or even a whole community.  In the text above from the book of Exodus God is telling a reluctant Moses to go and tell Pharaoh to let God’s people go.  Moses is reluctant to tell because he doesn’t know what to say.  God’s response is simple, “Now, go! I will help you to speak, and I will tell you what to say.”

Telling can be very difficult.  Telling someone about the role Jesus plays in your life can be very difficult for some.  Telling someone that they have a difficult problem they’re trying to minimize or deny can be especially difficult.  Telling someone about your own pain and suffering can be extremely difficult.  In many of the circumstances there’s a little voice inside that says, “Better not tell.  Besides, what would I say?  How do I tell someone how much my life has been changed by following God’s loving path?  How would I tell the other person with the problem they’re denying that I love them so much that I have to tell them something they might not want to hear but could change their life for the better?  How do I tell someone that I ache inside without feeling less of a person for having shared?”

“Now, go! I will help you to speak, and I will tell you what to say.”  Seems like a pretty simple solution.  Trust that others have faced the same reluctance to tell, and God has gotten them through.  Trust that even though you think you might not have just the right words, God will help you through.  God’s love will triumph and healing can happen.  I pray that God will give me the words to tell and the courage to offer them.

Blessings and Peace,

Gary

Pastor, Cross Lanes United Methodist Church

Cross Lanes, West Virginia

 

Help save lives! For more information on my book, “A Relentless Hope: Surviving the Storm of Teen Depression,” visit http://www.survivingteendepression.com.

My new book, “Wednesday Wonderings: Spiritual Journaling Through a Lens” is available at http://www.wipfandstock.com and http://www.amazon.com.

Check out my video, “Teens Surviving the Storm”
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o1hSpxC_G24

~ by revgenelson on October 1, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
