Beauty

“Beauty . . .”

Beauty in a woman without good judgment is like a gold ring in a pig’s snout.” (Proverbs 11:22)

Part of our wandering the last couple of weeks took us to the Upper Falls of the Cheat River, near Elkins, West Virginia.  I could have stayed there for hours just watching and taking photos.  Beauty is very difficult to describe, isn’t it.  Just the simple flowing of the water over the rocks is enough to entrance me.  Might not have the same effect on others, but like it’s said, “Beauty is in the eye of the beholder.” 

We might not know how to describe beauty but we know it when we see it or we know it when we experience it.


When we experience God’s beauty in one form or another we might feel a charge of excitement or just a quiet moment of “ahhhhhhh…”  Beauty somehow draws us into its very being and maybe allows us to feel like “all is right with the world,” even if just for a moment.  Beauty is really important.

I’ve also been taught for most of my life that beauty has to be more than, “skin deep.”  The notion has been expressed in many different ways but I just had to chuckle when I read the Proverb I quoted above, Beauty in a woman without good judgment is like a gold ring in a pig’s snout.”  Now, neither the writer of the proverb nor I am making fun of women.  Certainly the same thing about pigs’ snouts could be said for men.  You have to admit, the proverb certainly gets at the heart of the matter.  Beauty certainly is much more than skin deep.  

It seems that daily we are bombarded with the ugliness we help create.  How many times do you hear your self say, “Ughhhh . . . ?”  Despite the packaging we try to present, our ugliness we show forth in our words, deeds, and thoughts will always have the last word.  I don’t know about you, but I’ve always found that no perfume or air freshener will truly cover the smell of ugliness (despite what some of the television commercials would have me believe.)  We cannot cultivate ugliness within and expect some sort of beautiful veneer to keep the ugliness from oozing forth and trying to steal our peace and hope.

From time to time I encounter some of my own ugliness when I get frustrated, tired, or am confronted by the ugliness of others.  In those times I’m certainly not proud of some of the thoughts that fill my head and threaten to dictate my actions.  I have to rely on God’s help to transform my ugliness into beauty.  I don’t want to be ugly.  I’m not satisfied with spewing ugliness.  I’m certainly not satisfied with habitually spewing ugliness and then expecting my, “I’m so sorry, you know I didn’t mean it,” to try to perfume the ugliness I’ve expelled.

I want real change.  I want my ugliness to be transformed by God into beauty that will help my self and others experience God’s peace and hope.  I prefer, “Ahhhh . . .” to “Ughhhhh . . .”  I pray that God will help me in that endeavor.  How about you?

Blessings and Peace,

Gary

Pastor, Cross Lanes United Methodist Church

Cross Lanes, West Virginia

Help save lives! For more information on my book, “A Relentless Hope: Surviving the Storm of Teen Depression,” visit http://www.survivingteendepression.com.

My new book, “Wednesday Wonderings: Spiritual Journaling Through a Lens” is available at http://www.wipfandstock.com and http://www.amazon.com.

Check out my video, “Teens Surviving the Storm”
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o1hSpxC_G24

~ by revgenelson on October 22, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
