Reflect

“. . . reflect . . .”
“All of us, then, reflect the glory of the Lord with uncovered faces; and that same glory, coming from the Lord, who is the Spirit, transforms us into his likeness in an ever greater degree of glory.” (II Corinthians 3:18)
I’ve come to the conclusion that I have a love for icicles.  I like to see them glistening against a brilliant blue sky as they hang from the gutters of our buildings.  I enjoy watching the huge icicle formations clinging to the rocks as I drive along the highways.  I’ve actually used various formations in Wednesday Wonderings on previous occasions.  These particular icicles in the photo caught my attention because they were actually in the dark, hanging from the rocks along the edge of a parking lot.  I don’t think I would have noticed them had they not been reflecting the light from the parking lot lights, sort of shimmering in the darkness.  Once I took the photo and put it on my computer, I was blessed by the beauty of the icicles and all the colors in the rocks and mud they helped to reveal.

Reflecting the Light is critical.  Having just finished the Super Bowl advertising frenzy, I’m keenly aware of all the messages we are bombarded with on a day to day basis, not just from advertising, but also from family, friends, teachers, pastors, news reports, etc.  Whew, we are literally overwhelmed!  How do we know which messages to trust?  How do we know which people to believe?  A lot of factors go into that, but unfortunately too often we get a little lazy and give ourselves over to just listening and believing without questioning and testing.  It’s so easy to be lulled into their web, believing without really questioning and wondering.  Like, drinking lots of beer has something to do with little lost puppies, the majestic horses that save them, and the warm and fuzzy feelings it all evokes.  Ahh . . . (I guess this wouldn’t be a good time to remind you about the college students who die from alcohol poisoning, and the sexual assaults that occur on college campuses after consumption of lots of beer . . . But the puppy was so cute . . .

When God’s Light is reflected in a message or person, life happens – life with joy, hope, justice, and peace.  When something other than God’s Light is reflected, we risk following messages of darkness.  These messages are generally some of the best sounding we’ve ever heard.  Remember the old maxim, “You don’t get something for nothing?”  In other words, sometimes messages that promise the most need to be questioned the most.  Messages that reflect God’s Light lead us to loving God and loving one another. Those are the messages we should trust.  Those who reflect God’s Light in the messages they send are the ones we should trust.  Remember to think, question, and wonder.  Do you see God’s Light?

I pray that God will help me reflect the Light of Christ’s love in all I say and do.  How about you?

Blessings and Peace,

Gary

Pastor, Cross Lanes United Methodist Church

Cross Lanes, West Virginia

Help save lives! For more information on my book, “A Relentless Hope: Surviving the Storm of Teen Depression,” visit http://www.survivingteendepression.com.

My new book, “Wednesday Wonderings: Spiritual Journaling Through a Lens” is available at http://www.wipfandstock.com and http://www.amazon.com.

Check out my video, “Teens Surviving the Storm”
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o1hSpxC_G24

~ by revgenelson on February 5, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
