Invisible

“. . . invisible . . .”


“It was faith that made Moses leave Egypt without being afraid of the king’s anger. As though he saw the invisible God, he refused to turn back.” (Hebrews 11:27)

You’ve probably read Wednesday Wonderings long enough to know that not all my photos are pretty.  Some of them capture moments when I simply have to stop in my tracks and wonder.  Since my wife, Patti, is a night shift nurse we have to keep our bedroom as dark as possible during the day so she can sleep.  We have louvered shades and curtains over the windows.  I walked through the room last week and had to stop because a single shaft of light was blazing through the crack in one of the shades, illuminating some of the millions of particles floating in the darkened room.  Just one small shaft of light revealed a mystery that we walked through every day without noticing.  It was a difficult photo to capture because the camera had trouble finding and focusing on the particles.  Since it was so dark I had to leave the camera shutter open long enough that it tracked the particles for a few milliseconds, revealing them as streaks instead of dots.

Sometimes I feel a little strange talking about an invisible god.  How about you?  After all, we’re rational (for the most part) adults who depend on reason and science to find the answers and get us through.  Some would even laugh at us for suggesting that our lives are somehow nurtured, guided, and given meaning by a relationship with an invisible god.  Maybe we’re crazy for even thinking it.  But what about love . . .

This week ends with Valentine’s Day, making me keenly aware of the power of that unseen, invisible force we call love.  We like to say that love can make us do strange and crazy things.  It’s a fact.  Love can draw people together like powerful magnets (magnetism – another invisible force).  Love can change minds and help melt the bonds of hatred.  Love can even be a life boat carrying someone across a sea of despair to the shores of hope.  Love, the more I contemplate its nature and power, the more I’m amazed — even though it’s invisible.

That’s the same way God works for me.  God’s love for us is the source of our love for one another.  I see the results of God’s love at work in the world around me.  I really see it!  The more I contemplate the nature and power of God’s love, the more I’m amazed — even though it’s invisible.  I pray that God’s love will continue to hold and challenge me so that I can share it with others who also need to see the invisible but real presence of God.  How about you?

Blessings and Peace

Gary

Pastor, Cross Lanes United Methodist Church

Cross Lanes, West Virginia

Help save lives! For more information on my book, “A Relentless Hope: Surviving the Storm of Teen Depression,” visit http://www.survivingteendepression.com.

My new book, “Wednesday Wonderings: Spiritual Journaling Through a Lens” is available at http://www.wipfandstock.com and http://www.amazon.com.

Check out my video, “Teens Surviving the Storm”

~ by revgenelson on February 11, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
