I Will Be With You

” . . . be with you . . . “
“Go, then, to all peoples everywhere and make them my disciples: baptize them in the name of the Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirit,  and teach them to obey everything I have commanded you. And I will be with you always, to the end of the age.”  (Matthew 28:20)

Last week a few folks said to me during the beautiful snowfall and the day after, “I’ll bet this snowfall will be next week’s “Wednesday Wonderings.”  They were right, but this is probably not what they expected.  I pass this sculpture each week at St. Mark’s United Methodist church when I’m in downtown Charleston.  I’ve wanted to photograph it, but up until now, I haven’t figured out how to do it.  When I saw the snow I knew immediately that this was it.  The sculpture is called, “Homeless Jesus.”  The only distinguishing features that identify it as Jesus are the nail prints in the feet.

A few years ago there was a movement that focused on the acronym, “WWJD,” which stood for, “What Would Jesus Do?”  As I looked at the sculpture through the viewfinder of my camera, I realized that this is, “WWJB,” meaning, “Where Would Jesus Be?”  The answer is, “Right Here!”  I think God has been really working on me with this idea that wherever there is hurting, God is there and calls us to be there.  In the past five days God has sent me to be in a hospice care facility, a flood disaster relief effort, a late night emergency room, a rehabilitation center, and another high school that was struggling with the news of a student’s suicide the night before – and the week’s not over.  In each place I found Jesus.  I watched as God’s love was shared, and I knew Jesus was there.  Then I wondered how each situation might have been different if God’s love had not been shared.  Terror, rage, and despair would have reigned instead of hope.  God’s love in the presence of Jesus makes all the difference.

I’m glad God called me to be in all those places.  I was blessed as well.  Truly, I felt the affirming presence of Jesus saying, ” . . . I will be with you always . . . ”  I pray that God will keep calling me to be where I know Jesus will be.  How about you?

Blessings and Peace,

Gary

Pastor, Cross Lanes United Methodist Church

Cross Lanes, West Virginia

Help save lives! For more information on my book, “A Relentless Hope: Surviving the Storm of Teen Depression,” visit http://www.survivingteendepression.com.

My new book, “Wednesday Wonderings: Spiritual Journaling Through a Lens” is available at http://www.wipfandstock.com and http://www.amazon.com.

Check out my video, “Teens Surviving the Storm”

~ by revgenelson on March 12, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
