Hide

” . . . hide me . . . “
“Protect me as you would your very eyes; hide me in the shadow of your wings from the attacks of the wicked.”  (Psalm 17:8-9)
This Monday my granddaughter took me chick watching.  Patti and I were visiting her and decided to go see all the chicks in the big tubs at the local feed store.  Lots of excitement!  I couldn’t help but notice that from time to time the chicks in one of the tubs would get anxious and all suddenly flock together as though hiding under some phantom mother’s wing.  Actually, it was pretty fascinating to see that hiding instinct play out in the absence of the mother.  Even chicks of different persuasions huddled together.  There were no strangers in danger.

I’m convinced that somewhere deep inside we all harbor the need to hide.  Maybe that’s not something we’re comfortable admitting, but I still believe it to be true.  In the presence of danger, fatigue, confusion, fear, or despair we might lead with some other defense, but I’m convinced that there are times we all long to and need to hide in the shadow of the wings of another.  There are times when we need that arm around us, that opportunity to settle in, and even just for a moment feel like we can “turn off” to allow someone else to be in charge. I don’t believe it’s a sign of weakness to hide under the offered wing.  Instead, I believe it’s one of the “perks” of living in relationship.  It’s a gift we offer one another when we offer a wing.  It’s a precious moment when we allow ourselves to accept.

God offers a wing and invites us to accept it – rest, assurance, and hope.  I pray that God will help me offer a wing to another when it’s needed.  How about you?

Blessings and Peace,

Gary

Pastor, Cross Lanes United Methodist Church

Cross Lanes, West Virginia

Help save lives! For more information on my book, “A Relentless Hope: Surviving the Storm of Teen Depression,” visit http://www.survivingteendepression.com.

My new book, “Wednesday Wonderings: Spiritual Journaling Through a Lens” is available at http://www.wipfandstock.com and http://www.amazon.com.

Check out my video, “Teens Surviving the Storm”
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o1hSpxC_G24

~ by revgenelson on March 19, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
