Can anyone . . .

“Can anyone . . . “
 
“Can anyone measure the ocean by handfuls
    or measure the sky with his hands?
Can anyone hold the soil of the earth in a cup

    or weigh the mountains and hills on scales?” (Isaiah 40:12)
Can anyone capture an entire tree inside a tiny droplet of water?  God can . . .
I was frustrated on my way to work yesterday morning because it was raining and somehow helping to showcase the beautiful colors of spring.  The clouds and rain subdued the washing-out of the bright sun, allowing some of the depth of the colors in the grass, trees, and flowers to be displayed.  I was frustrated because I couldn’t figure out how to get it all in a photo.  When I got to the church I noticed the dogwood tree was starting to bloom so I wondered if I could take a photo with the colors of the petals against the grass.  I made an attempt, but was soon distracted by the droplets of water that were collecting as it rained.

I was amazed how the droplets captured the tree, so I gave up my quest for a photo with petals and grass.  That’s how wandering and wondering works.  Once we open ourselves to the guidance of God’s Spirit, we never know how we’ll be surprised, transformed, and renewed.  My frustration was changed to awe and joy.  I couldn’t . . . but God could.  I couldn’t find the way to the photo I thought I was supposed to take, but God guided me to the photo I needed to take!  What a moment to share with my Creator! I think sometimes folks call this, “let go and let God,” but I call it, “wandering, watching, and wondering” to see what God can do.

I hope you’re enjoying the wonders of spring in your neck of the woods, and I pray God keeps me wandering, watching, and wondering.  How about you?

Blessings and Peace,

Gary

Pastor, Cross Lanes United Methodist Church

Cross Lanes, West Virginia

Help save lives! For more information on my book, “A Relentless Hope: Surviving the Storm of Teen Depression,” visit http://www.survivingteendepression.com.My new book, “Wednesday Wonderings: Spiritual Journaling Through a Lens” is available at http://www.wipfandstock.com and
Check out my video, “Teens Surviving the Storm”
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o1hSpxC_G24
~ by revgenelson on April 15, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
