Hints and Whispers

” . . . only hints . . . “
 
 
“God stretched out the northern sky
    and hung the earth in empty space.
 It is God who fills the clouds with water
    and keeps them from bursting with the weight.
 He hides the full moon behind a cloud.
 He divided light from darkness . . .
 But these are only hints of his power,
    only the whispers that we have heard.
Who can know how truly great God is?”  (Job 26:7-10, 14)
I believe it was about a couple of weeks ago that a meteor shower was predicted in the night skies.  So, I stayed up late, set up my camera on the back deck, and waited . . . and waited . . . and waited.  It was a tricky process that required a lot of experimenting with exposure times and patience – lots and lots of patience.  I discovered that once I opened the camera shutter I couldn’t walk away from the camera.  Even when I tried to tip-toe across the deck to leave the shutter open for several minutes and go back to sit in the house, the camera moved enough that the photo was blurred.  So, I opened the shutter and stood waiting for several minutes.  This photo was the best I could get.  The clouds moved in, the meteor fragments failed to appear, and this was it.  Disappointing – maybe . . .
As is often the case, when I put the photo up on my computer screen I was able to see more than what was displayed on the camera’s tiny screen.  I still didn’t see any meteor showers, but looking at the photo I could see a hint of something more.  If you look deeper than the bright stars of the big dipper peeking through the clouds, you can see the hint of so much more – millions and millions of stars making their nightly journey across the northeastern sky.  Wow!  It got me wondering . . .
I live by hints and whispers.  That’s right, I’ve come to that conclusion.  I’ve made some of the most important decisions of my life based simply on hints and whispers.  Oh, I’ve wanted more.  I’ve wanted hard facts, more data, and long-term, durable assurances, but the reality is that in many if not most cases all I got were hints and whispers – and still I leapt.  I leapt into a long and loving marriage with only a hint and whisper of what might be.  I leapt into parenting with only a hint and a whisper.  I leapt into a career of ministry with only a hint and whisper.
It’s the experience of God’s love shown for us in so many ways that gives us the courage and assurance to make so many leaps in our lives.  When I face a new challenge and am reluctant to move forward I look not just for the hints and whispers of the past, but also for the hints and whispers I see of God’s majesty and love in the present.  I’m sure the hints and whispers are what move me from, “Why?” and “How?” to “Why Not?  Let’s do it!” 
I pray that God will help me live into the hints and whispers of divine majesty and love.  How about you?
Blessings and Peace,
Gary
Pastor
Cross Lanes United Methodist Church
Cross Lanes, West Virginia
Help save lives! For more information on my book, “A Relentless Hope: Surviving the Storm of Teen Depression,” visit http://www.survivingteendepression.com.My new book, “Wednesday Wonderings: Spiritual Journaling Through a Lens” is available at http://www.wipfandstock.com and http://www.amazon.com.
Check out my video, “Teens Surviving the Storm”
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o1hSpxC_G24
~ by revgenelson on May 5, 2015.

One Response to “Hints and Whispers”

  1. What a awesome Mighty God we serve!

Leave a Reply

 
