New Thing

“. . . a new thing . . .”
 
“See, I am doing a new thing! Now it springs up; do you not perceive it? I am making a way in the wilderness and streams in the wasteland.” (Isaiah 43:19)

About 6:15 one morning last week I walked down the stairs inside our house, glanced out the window by the front door, and saw one frustrated-looking deer.  She was standing in our front lawn about six feet from this lily, just staring.  She was not very happy.  I’ve worked pretty hard to have these lilies and other flowers blooming in my front yard this year.  Actually, it’s not the blooming that’s so difficult to achieve, it’s keeping the blooms that’s almost impossible with the deer waiting to graze on them like a floral buffet.  Last year all you would have seen were empty stems, the ragged leftovers from their midnight snacking.  This year I’ve invested a lot of time and effort in our front garden.  I’ve watered, weeded, and sprayed!  I’ve tried to frustrate the deer with an obnoxious smelling deer repellant.  So far, so good, but there’s lots of time remaining, and plenty of opportunity for more snacking by the deer.  Regardless of what happens the rest of the summer, we’ve really enjoyed this early display of God’s magnificent creation where once were only ragged ruins.
My fight with the deer caused me to wonder about two kinds of people, the “might-have-been,” and the “might be.”  All of us encounter significant, even sometimes tragic, loss and change in our lives.  We don’t just “get over” significant loss.  I find it hurtful when I hear folks tell others that they just have to “get over” the loss of a loved one.  We don’t “get over” them.  We continue to carry them with us until the end of our lives, sharing their love with others we encounter.  However, in order to keep sharing that love with the living, it is important that we focus on being the “might be” instead of the “might have been” sort of people.  If we only focus on what might have been, we live our lives with the ragged stems of flowers that might have been, and languish in sorrow or worse.  If we become those whose focus is on the what might be, we continue to use the love we share with our departed loved ones to cultivate the miraculous flowers of today and tomorrow.  We continue to know joy!
God reminds of divine love that is waiting to help us become those “might be” people as God constantly creates that “new thing” for us with the miracle of each day.  I pray that through all the loss and change in my life, God will help me be a “might be” person for the work of God’s kingdom.  How about you?
Blessings and Peace,
Gary
Pastor, Cross Lanes United Methodist Church
Cross Lanes, West Virginia
PS – You’ve been missing a couple of “Wednesday Wonderings” because I’ve been traveling.  You might miss next week as well because I’ll be traveling with our youth to the national gathering of United Methodist youth in Orlando.  The event is called, “YOUTH 2015.”  I’ll be leading some workshops on “teen depression” while I’m there.
 
Help save lives! For more information on my book, “A Relentless Hope: Surviving the Storm of Teen Depression,” visit http://www.survivingteendepression.com.My new book, “Wednesday Wonderings: Spiritual Journaling Through a Lens” is available at http://www.wipfandstock.com and http://www.amazon.com.
Check out my video, “Teens Surviving the Storm”
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o1hSpxC_G24
 
~ by revgenelson on June 18, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
