No One Understands

“No one understands . . . “
“Don’t you know? Haven’t you heard?  The Lord is the everlasting God; he created all the world.
He never grows tired or weary.  No one understands his thoughts.  He strengthens those who are weak and tired.  Even those who are young grow weak; young people can fall exhausted.   But those who trust in the Lord for help will find their strength renewed.” (Isaiah 40:28-31)
On Labor Day I was wading through a field of weeds to photograph some spectacular yellow wildflowers, when suddenly my attention was distracted by this brilliant blue damselfly, flitting about the weeds.  There I was in a sea of various shades of yellow, green, brown, and red when suddenly, my focus was diverted to this small, but spectacularly garbed metallic blue insect.  He stood out like a state road worker decked out in the new safety green shirts against the drabness of the highway.

This damselfly was barely as wide as the blade of grass that held him, but was instantly observable.  He obviously didn’t get the message about blending in.  Better yet, God obviously had other ideas, but what?  Camouflage must not be part of God’s plan for this little guy’s survival.  But I still don’t understand – bright blue in a sea of green and brown?

I use a lot of energy trying to figure out things, situations, and people.  Sometimes it’s helpful because the practice helps me know what direction to take or how to respond in various situations.  Other times it’s frustrating because try as hard as I might, I just can’t make sense of some of the ways folks act and respond to one another.  For that matter, I’m not always sure why I act and respond in some of the ways I do.  We are so much more than the sum of our figuring, and yet, in many of our dealings we over-simplify to the point that we hurt one another in our desire to do something and be done with the situation.  Living with the complexity and uncertainty of life can raise all sorts of anxiety and be exhausting.  No wonder we seek to simplify, act, and be done with it all.

I might never understand you, but God’s grace in Christ challenges me not to condemn you so I can be done with you.  I pray that God will keep reminding me of that and renewing my strength for living and trying to understand, even when I don’t.  How about you?

Blessings and Peace,

Gary

Pastor, Cross Lanes United Methodist Church

Cross Lanes, West Virginia

Help save lives! For more information on my book, “A Relentless Hope: Surviving the Storm of Teen Depression,” visit http://www.survivingteendepression.com.

My other book, “Wednesday Wonderings: Spiritual Journaling Through a Lens” is available at http://www.wipfandstock.com and http://www.amazon.com.

~ by revgenelson on September 9, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
