Restored

” . . . restored . . . “
 
“They were restored to health by your word, O Lord, the word which heals all humanity.” (Wisdom 16:12 – An apocryphal book of the Old Testament) 
We were away wandering the last couple of weeks, thus the lack of wonderings.  I never tire of climbing these rocks along the Maine coastline.  The rocks form the transition of the coastline from land to sea, also serving as recreational opportunities for folks like me and sunning platforms for the occasional harbor seal.  When I climb the rocks the experience has a way of focusing my attention on nothing else but the beauty that engulfs me.  My worries, cares, and stress are ameliorated by water, wind, rock, and sunshine, leaving me feeling restored and refreshed.  It’s a place I seek and an experience I cherish.  I call it a God moment, because somehow in the midst I know the restoration is a gift from God.  I take the moments with me as a point of reference when I step back into my world of pressure, conflict, and busyness.  Somehow the memory of the experience is more than just a memory.  It’s more like a place to which I can return in my mind and allow my soul to breathe a sigh of relief and joy.  It is a reconnecting with God.  This is my spiritual wandering and wondering.

God’s Word brought forth creation, the elements that help set the stage for my restoration.  The Word of God became flesh and dwelt among us in the person of Jesus, bringing us restoration through love, forgiveness, and hope.  I pray that God will continue to help me discover and cherish the gift of restoration from God’s Word so I can be ready to share it with others.  How about you?

Blessings and Peace,

Gary

Pastor, Cross Lanes United Methodist Church

Cross Lanes, West Virginia

Help save lives! For more information on my book, “A Relentless Hope: Surviving the Storm of Teen Depression,” visit http://www.survivingteendepression.com.

My other book, “Wednesday Wonderings: Spiritual Journaling Through a Lens” is available at http://www.wipfandstock.com and http://www.amazon.com.

Check out my video, “Teens Surviving the Storm” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o1hSpxC_G24

~ by revgenelson on October 21, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
