Pine Needles

” . . . you are the branches . . . “
“’I am the vine, and you are the branches. Those who remain in me, and I in them, will bear much fruit; for you can do nothing without me.'” (John 15:5)
Pine branches, pine branches – it seems in this season that everywhere I turn I see more pine branches.  I snapped this photo a few weeks ago simply because I was taken by the brilliance of the green against the blue with such vibrancy offered by the sun.  Only later did I stop to realize that I was witnessing a miracle.  The “leaves” (needles) of the pine tree were busy processing sunlight, water, and carbon dioxide into energy for the tree and oxygen for me!  What a miracle – one that I almost missed!

Photosynthesis is one of the most amazing miracles in God’s creation.  A process that has required complicated trial and error to even come close to replicating, takes place every moment that sunlight falls on a leaf and energizes the miraculous process to begin in God’s natural world.  Tiny pine needles are literally one of the keys to my survival!  Wow! I’m a big guy so it must take a lot of tiny pine needles, but still, one tiny pine needle makes a difference in my life . . .

Sometimes when we see or experience difficult situations we feel overwhelmed and threatened.  Our responses to those feelings can be less than helpful and even dangerously destructive.  We can be quick to jump on unhealthy plans because we can’t see another way.  It’s just all so overwhelming.  My sense is that in those moments we need to remember pine needles.  We need to remember that tiny miracles can make the difference between life and destruction.  We need to remember that tiny acts of love, miraculously offered and received in the face of hardship and adversity can make the difference, can offer life.

God chose to share divine love once more in the miraculous birth of one tiny child, the Christ Child.  One miracle has changed life forever and can change lives today.  Every tiny act of love offered by those who receive and share the Christ’s love are miracles that can make the difference between life and destruction.  Pine needles – don’t ever underestimate their worth!  Tiny, miraculous acts of love offered in the name of Christ – don’t ever underestimate their worth!  I pray that God will keep me appreciating and sharing all the miracles of God’s love in Christ.  How about you?

Blessings and Peace,

Gary

Pastor, Cross Lanes United Methodist Church

Cross Lanes, West Virginia

Help save lives! For more information on my book, “A Relentless Hope: Surviving the Storm of Teen Depression,” visit http://www.survivingteendepression.com.

My other book, “Wednesday Wonderings: Spiritual Journaling Through a Lens” is available at http://www.wipfandstock.com and http://www.amazon.com.

Check out my video, “Teens Surviving the Storm” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o1hSpxC_G24

~ by revgenelson on December 9, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
