Renewed

” . . . renewed day after day . . . “


“For this reason we never become discouraged. Even though our physical being is gradually decaying, yet our spiritual being is renewed day after day.” (II Corinthians 4:16)

My wife, Patti, loves to decorate for Christmas.  In fact, I think she loves it so much that she tries to extend the season by turning some Christmas decorations into winter decorations.  That explains the wreath on our front porch decorated with snowflakes.  “It’s not Christmas,” she says when I wonder if it’s a little weird to still have a Christmas wreath hanging.  “It’s a winter wreath,” she reminds me.  Well, the winter wreath will now have to become a spring wreath with snowflakes because it’s happened again.  I walked out the front door on Sunday and was startled by a bird flying from the wreath.  I looked over, and sure enough, there was another nest with one egg already in it.  Over the next couple of days, two more small eggs were added.

Again!  It’s such a small little word with tremendous power.  I’m reminded of when I do something that delights my young granddaughter and she says just that, “Again!”  Sometimes it has different meaning when asked as a question, “Again?”  And when accompanied by a deep sigh of hurt it can convey so much in one small utterance, “Again . . .”

When I first saw the nest and egg I admit, my immediate response was something like, “Oh no, not again.  I’ll have to leave this decoration up until the birds are finished with the nest.”  But then my thoughts quickly turned to, “Wait a minute, again!  I get a ringside seat to this miracle again.  I get to watch the miracle of new life again.  I hope this young mother bird is able to hatch the eggs this time.”  (The last eggs came in the middle of winter and the nest was blown away.)  “I wonder if there’s anything I can do to help?”

Easter means God is doing it again!  As the Apostle Paul reminds us, “our spiritual being is renewed day after day.”  That’s exactly what I need, “AGAIN!”  Easter is much more than the celebration of an event.  It is much more than the retelling of a story from long ago about God’s love at work in Jesus.  Easter is the celebration of God’s invitation to be renewed by divine love today, tomorrow, tomorrow’s tomorrow, and every tomorrow.  We can meet Easter with my first attitude toward the new nest, ho-hum or worse, “Oh well, here we go again.”  Or we can allow Easter to draw us into the miracle of God’s renewing love in Christ and exclaim, “Oh wow, again!  Renew me, again!”  When we feel God’s renewing love we can’t help but respond with our prayers, our presence, our service, and our witness.  I pray that God will help me every day to greet the invitation to be renewed by divine love with joyous enthusiasm.  How about you?

Blessings and Peace,

Gary

Pastor, Cross Lanes United Methodist Church

Cross Lanes, West Virginia

Help save lives! For more information on my book, “A Relentless Hope: Surviving the Storm of Teen Depression,” visit http://www.survivingteendepression.com.

My other book, “Wednesday Wonderings: Spiritual Journaling Through a Lens” is available at http://www.wipfandstock.com and http://www.amazon.com.

Check out my video, “Teens Surviving the Storm” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o1hSpxC_G24

~ by revgenelson on March 23, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
