Reveals the Truth

” . . . reveals the truth . . . ”

(Jesus said,) “The Helper will come—the Spirit, who reveals the truth about God and who comes from the Father. I will send him to you from the Father, and he will speak about me. (John 15:26)

Sometimes I just have to stop whatever I’m doing and take a picture because God has once more revealed a moment of beauty, majesty, and inspiration.  That happened late last week when I walked by this rose sitting in a cup of water on my desk.  I was taken by it’s, beauty, including it’s color and symmetry.  I was also taken by the mystery of it’s unfolding.

Staring deep inside, all I could see were more and more petals waiting to unfold and reveal further evidence of God’s creative genius.  It took me a moment to fully grasp the other aspect of the rose that caught my attention, but it finally dawned on me.  As each new petal unfurled, not a single one fell away.  The rose unfolded in such a way that every petal was intact and one row made room for the next row.  Wow!

Somehow the unfurling of this rose bud reminds me of growth I’ve experienced in my life as new understandings, discoveries, wonders, and mysteries about God’s amazing gift of life have been revealed to me.  Life has been a process of discovery and revelation.  What I know now, I could not have known when I was younger; and what I knew then helped build a foundation for further revelation, knowledge, and change that I enjoy today.  I’ve been around long enough to have discovered that some of the things I was taught many years ago have changed as a result of further revelation and discovery.  Consider the poor (ex) planet, Pluto.  When I was in school, Pluto was considered to be the ninth planet in the solar system.  In the 1990’s further discoveries revealed that Pluto was not really a planet like the other eight we learned about.  Instead, Pluto was given a new classification as a “dwarf planet.”

I believe God continues to challenge us to new awareness as more discoveries are made about God’s world.  I believe God’s love is continually revealed as we make room for new ideas and new understandings about our lives.  I believe that our openness to God’s revelations allows us to be part of the further unfolding of God’s kingdom among us.  I don’t think I would like living in a world where I thought God had no new revelations for us to grasp and live through the challenges some might bring.  I rejoice in all the ways God continues to offer new revelations, and pray that I will have the courage to be curious and open to the new guidance of the Holy Spirit.  How about you?

Blessings and Peace,

Gary

Pastor, Cross Lanes United Methodist Church

Cross Lanes, West Virginia

Help save lives! For more information on my book, “A Relentless Hope: Surviving the Storm of Teen Depression,” visit http://www.survivingteendepression.com.

My other book, “Wednesday Wonderings: Spiritual Journaling Through a Lens” is available at http://www.wipfandstock.com and http://www.amazon.com.

Check out my video, “Teens Surviving the Storm” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o1hSpxC_G24

~ by revgenelson on May 11, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
