Catching the Wind

” . . . caught the wind . . .”
“Have any ever mastered heavenly knowledge?
    Have any ever caught the wind in their hands?
    Or wrapped up water in a piece of cloth?
    Or fixed the boundaries of the earth?

Who are they, if you know? Who are their children?”  (Proverbs 30:4)

Little things catch my attention and cause me to wonder, like this dripping faucet.  Wait, it’s not just a dripping faucet, it’s a dripping faucet that’s having its drips pushed sideways by the wind.  Wow, simple, yet oh so complex, a simple leaky faucet demonstrating the invisible forces of gravity and the wind.  Think about all the complex factors that have to come together in just the right, precise way for water to travel downward and sideways . . .  Cool!

The older I’ve gotten the more aware I’ve become of how much I’ve seen, learned, and experienced both professionally and personally.  Whew, I’ve been through a lot.  I don’t know how many times I’ve heard myself utter some version of the phrase, “This is not my first rodeo,” meaning, I’ve been through this, seen this, or learned this before.  I know a lot, but I think the most important part about my current age and state of development is knowing how much I don’t or can’t know and all the corollaries that come with that like, how much I can’t control.  I really think it’s knowing how much I don’t know that helps make it safe for me to act for now on what I think I do know.

I just don’t have the power to be certain about much.  That’s the truth of it.  I can’t master heavenly knowledge, catch the wind in my hands, wrap up water in a cloth, or fix the boundaries of the earth.  I can’t pass the test proposed by the writer of Proverbs for being as wise and powerful as God, and you don’t have to find my children to locate someone who can tell you that about me.  I’m not certain about much except God’s love. I’ve come to realize that because I’m not certain about much besides God’s love, it impacts how I am with others and decisions I make about how to live and be in ministry with others.  This state of mind, I guess I could call it, causes or allows me to lead with love, because that’s all I really can be certain of.  This state of mind and being allows me to think through the filters of humility and grace.  This state of mind helps me focus more on the other and less on me.  This state of mind helps me pray along the lines of the prayer attributed to St. Francis, “O divine Master, grant that I may not so much seek . . . To be understood as to understand . . .”

I like this current state of mind, but it’s easy to be tempted to slip from it and stand on my own certainty to proclaim something as though I could master heavenly knowledge, etc.  I think fear, anger, anxiety, etc. can cause that gear to slip.  This state of mind is critically important for a disciple and takes practice with God.  I pray that God will help me practice the presence of Christ so I can live in and love from this state of mind.  How about you?

Blessings and Peace,

Gary

Pastor, Cross Lanes United Methodist Church

Cross Lanes, West Virginia

 
Help save lives! For more information on my book, “A Relentless Hope: Surviving the Storm of Teen Depression,” visit http://www.survivingteendepression.com.

My other book, “Wednesday Wonderings: Spiritual Journaling Through a Lens” is available at http://www.wipfandstock.com and http://www.amazon.com.

Check out my video, “Teens Surviving the Storm” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o1hSpxC_G24

~ by revgenelson on May 25, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
