Promise

” . . . keep my promise . . . “
 

“I will keep my promise to you and to your descendants in future generations as an everlasting covenant. I will be your God and the God of your descendants. (Genesis 17:7)

This past Saturday I walked by this tree and noticed its seed pods almost ready for launch.  When I was a kid we called them “whirly gigs,” picked them off the ground, and tried to see if we could get them to fly again.  The beautiful colors of these seed pods caught my attention and caused me to wonder . . . Isn’t it pretty amazing to wonder that this tree and every plant lives and grows each day with an eye to the future.  Even as the tree spreads its leaves each summer and basks in the glory of the sun, building new muscle and size into its trunk and branches, it’s also building seed pods to release in the fall to spread God’s miracle of life for another generation.

Somehow that struck a cord in me – the idea that every day we live, we should also live and love with an eye to the future.  That helps remind me that my relationship is not just with God and others, but rather, a relationship with God, others, and all the others that will be (and all that have been for that matter.)  Others before me have lived their lives with an eye to my future.  I see and experience it all around me.  That means I must avoid a myopic view of life that helps reinforce my “me” tendencies, and live with a view to the future.  There are people counting on me, not just now, but far into the future.

What kind of worldview will we choose to hand to future generations?  Will it be one that further fans the flames of parochialism and “me-ism,” a sort of “us against the rest of the world sort of view,” or will we hand them a worldview that proclaims mutual respect and global peace with justice?  Will we hand them a worldview that says, “Get all you can however you can get it, by whatever means it takes to get it, and regardless of who you hurt to get it,” or will we hand them a world view that says, “I am most satisfied when you are also satisfied?”  I’m pretty sure Jesus would have me live toward the latter.

Genesis proclaims that God’s divine promise of an everlasting covenant will be kept for all future generations.  What promise are we willing to make for future generations.  I pray that God will help me live each day with an eye to future, and a will to love so all might be satisfied.  How about you?

Blessings and Peace,

Gary

Pastor, Cross Lanes United Methodist Church

Cross Lanes, West Virginia

Help save lives! For more information on my book, “A Relentless Hope: Surviving the Storm of Teen Depression,” visit http://www.survivingteendepression.com.

My other book, “Wednesday Wonderings: Spiritual Journaling Through a Lens” is available at http://www.wipfandstock.com and http://www.amazon.com.

Check out my video, “Teens Surviving the Storm” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o1hSpxC_G24

~ by revgenelson on September 28, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
