Remind Me

” . . . remind you . . . “


“And now I want to remind you, my friends, of the Good News which I preached to you, which you received, and on which your faith stands firm.” (I Corinthians 15:1)

A couple of weeks ago the flowers in my yard began to wane, looking more and more bedraggled as they died or prepared themselves for the coming winter.  Then I caught sight of these beauties as I visited a local retreat center.  Their vibrancy seemed to remind me that all was not lost with the waning of the summer and fall flowers.  God’s beauty would continue to somehow carry me in weeks and months to come, sometimes when I might least expect it.

Reminders are important.  A quick glance at my desk would affirm that, since a good portion of it is often covered with post-it notes reminding me of one thing or another.  Yet, reminders are not always welcomed.  I remember reading from my “dad script” and offering reminders to my children.  If my memory serves me correctly, it seems a lot of my reminders were met with, “Yea, dad, I know.”  I just couldn’t stop myself from offering a reminder if it might help them avoid hurt or accomplish something important.

There are other times when reminders are welcomed.  I don’t know how many times I’ve said to my wife, “Please remind me to _______.”  Reminders are a testimony to the fact that we can’t always keep everything we need to remember and follow in the forefront of our awareness.  Sometimes very important things can slip away into the background or our consciousness and not be available to help us make the best decisions about life.  I remember when I was in high school our church handed out little metal crosses that we were invited to carry in our pocket to remind us about God’s love for us in Christ, and how that love calls us to love like Jesus.  I carried that for years until it was somehow lost.

As important as God’s love is (the most important, as a matter of fact) it’s easy for us to let it slip into the background without reminders.  That’s why the Apostle Paul said, “And now I want to remind you, my friends, of the Good News which I preached to you, which you received, and on which your faith stands firm.”  Without reminders it’s actually easy for the voices of others to push away the voice of God calling us to discipleship.  How can we expect to keep God’s love in the forefront of our lives and decision-making without reminders?  What’s your reminders, prayer, study, worship, outreach, physical objects, or something else?

I pray that God will help me to not neglect the reminders I need of God’s amazing grace.  How about you?

Blessings and Peace,

Gary

Pastor, Cross Lanes United Methodist Church

Cross Lanes, West Virginia

 
Help save lives! For more information on my book, “A Relentless Hope: Surviving the Storm of Teen Depression,” visit http://www.survivingteendepression.com.

My other book, “Wednesday Wonderings: Spiritual Journaling Through a Lens” is available at http://www.wipfandstock.com and http://www.amazon.com.

Check out my video, “Teens Surviving the Storm” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o1hSpxC_G24

~ by revgenelson on October 26, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
