Compassion

” . . . compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness, and patience.”

 

“You are the people of God; he loved you and chose you for his own. So then, you must clothe yourselves with compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness, and patience.” (Colossians 3:12)

Okay, it’s the morning after the election.  I find myself with an almost mind and spirit-numbing swirl of thoughts and feelings.  My spirit needed something to bring focus, calm, direction, and hope.  God’s Spirit gave me two answers to my dilemma this morning – this photo I took a couple of weeks ago, and the word, “compassion.”

The photo speaks to the intensity of my situation.  The dark, storm clouds of anxiety, fear, accusation, and anger that have plagued this election still swirl in the ethos.  Yet, there’s light behind those clouds.  It’s not light from one political party or the other.  It’s God’s light, the light that darkness cannot destroy.  In spite of our best and worst efforts, God’s light and purpose cannot be overcome.

That brings me to the word – compassion.  I guess compassion comes to mind because after the beating we’ve all taken through the election cycle, that’s what we all need.  The only way to receive that compassion is if we offer it to one another.  As we move forward as Christians and as a nation, I can’t think of a better way to make the journey than to allow God’s love to help us clothe ourselves with compassion – and while we’re at it, kindness, humility, gentleness, and patience.

I pray that God will help me walk each mile of the journey ahead clothed in compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness, and patience.  How about you?

Blessings and Peace,

Gary

Pastor, Cross Lanes United Methodist Church

Cross Lanes, West Virginia

Help save lives! For more information on my book, “A Relentless Hope: Surviving the Storm of Teen Depression,” visit http://www.survivingteendepression.com.

My other book, “Wednesday Wonderings: Spiritual Journaling Through a Lens” is available at http://www.wipfandstock.com and http://www.amazon.com.

Check out my video, “Teens Surviving the Storm” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o1hSpxC_G24

~ by revgenelson on November 9, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
