Memories

“So remember . . . “
 
“So remember today and never forget: the Lord is God in heaven and on earth. There is no other god.” (Deuteronomy 4:39)
 
No, I haven’t abandoned you or cut you from the “Wednesday Wonderings” list.  I’ve been working or away for a few Wednesdays and haven’t had a chance to write.  I’m back.
 
I took this photo from the back window of our new retirement home in Virginia a couple of weeks ago.  (No I haven’t retired, but we found the place we feel God has led us for the next chapter of our lives.)  The old swing has a lot of miles on it.  As I looked at in the photo I thought to myself, “Well, there’s no swinging today,” but I also thought about all the swinging and all the memories that prior owners must have made as they sat on the swing and enjoyed the lake.  That got me wondering about memories . . .
 
There are all sorts of memories.  There are memories that store useful information for present tasks, memories that are hurtful, as well as memories that serve as warnings for future dangers, but I think the best memories are the ones that hold us.  The memories of swinging by the lake in the cool of a summer’s breeze are the ones that hold us when we’re trapped in the house by winter’s cold.  The memories of God’s past blessings can keep us when suffering has its day.  Somehow the memories help to reassure us that the present hardships won’t rule the day forever.  That’s why making good memories today is so important.  “So remember today and never forget,” says the writer of Deuteronomy. 
 
Memories can bring healing.  I was aware of that today as I was looking for some photos for another project.  Since last I shared with you I had to put down one of my beloved Boston Terriers, Tinker Bell.  It was very painful and for a couple of weeks I really didn’t want to talk about her or have others talk about her.  However, today as I saw some of her photos, the memories of some of our adventures together seemed to help the feelings shift.  I could laugh at some of her expressions and enjoy the remembered experiences.
 
Memories are important, they can instruct, protect, hold, and heal.  Today’s a great day to make some new ones with those you love.  Don’t waste the day.  I pray that God will always help me make good memories with others today.  How about you?
 
Blessings and Peace,
Gary
Pastor, Cross Lanes United Methodist Church
Cross Lanes, West Virginia
 
Help save lives! For more information on my book, “A Relentless Hope: Surviving the Storm of Teen Depression,” visit http://www.survivingteendepression.com.

My other book, “Wednesday Wonderings: Spiritual Journaling Through a Lens” is available at http://www.wipfandstock.com and http://www.amazon.com.

Check out my video, “Teens Surviving the Storm” Teen Depression & Suicide: Teens Surviving the Storm

Teen Depression & Suicide: Teens Surviving the Storm

This is a video about teens and difficult times in life.
~ by revgenelson on January 25, 2017.

Leave a Reply

 
