Look to the Mountains

” . . . look to the mountains . . .”


“I look to the mountains;
    where will my help come from?
My help will come from the Lord,
    who made heaven and earth.”  (Psalm 121:1-2)

My mind and other parts of my body are still a little numb because I spent Sunday evening through Tuesday afternoon in some pretty intense meetings.  Whew – it’s over.  Sunday night I left the meeting feeling pretty confused and angry because of some surprising information that was shared.  These were intensely confidential meetings so I could share nothing.  When I got home Sunday evening Patti could tell I was pretty wound up and compassionately asked, “Would you like to talk about it?”

 “I can’t,” I replied, so we watched some TV while I just sort of smoldered.  I pretty much lost a night’s sleep over the whole ordeal.

It’s hard to believe, but the experience did have a positive side as well.  Because I couldn’t talk about it, the experience served as a reminder for me of how important it is that we do share our joys and difficulties with one another whenever possible.  It’s just not healthy for us to bottle things up inside and wait for the results, like physical damage to our bodies from stress-related illnesses, or emotional damage to relationships from hurtful words and actions.  Share with one another, and share with God.  Because I have years of experience as a pastor and pastoral counselor I can attest to times when folks have shared their burdens with me and I basically just listened.  They have generally said they feel better after talking.  It’s always been a special blessing when a “non-believer” (someone who did not believe that simply talking and sharing their burden with another person could ever help) has said after talking to me that they felt better.

Because I couldn’t talk with others in this situation this week I turned even more heavily to God on this one.  God and I had a running prayerful dialogue for several hours over the course of a couple of days.  Have you ever prayed that way, like God is walking with you, riding with you, working with you, and you just talk – and talk, and talk.  That’s what I did, and that’s how God got me through.  I’m back to sleeping better, and I think I managed to get through some difficult discussions without hurting anyone.

“My help will come from the Lord, who made heaven and earth.”  It works.  Try it.  I pray that God will always remind me to look to God when help is needed.  How about you?

Blessings and Peace,

Gary

Help save lives! For more information on my book, “A Relentless Hope: Surviving the Storm of Teen Depression,” visit http://www.survivingteendepression.com.

My other book, “Wednesday Wonderings: Spiritual Journaling Through a Lens” is available at http://www.wipfandstock.com and http://www.amazon.com.

Check out my video, “Teens Surviving the Storm” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o1hSpxC_G24

~ by revgenelson on March 8, 2017.

Leave a Reply

 
