The Sky Reveals . . .

” . . . the sky reveals God’s glory!”

“How clearly the sky reveals God’s glory!
    How plainly it shows what he has done!
Each day announces it to the following day;
    each night repeats it to the next.”  (Psalm 19:1-2)

Happy Easter!  I was traveling last week and didn’t get a chance to write, but it’s still the Easter season so it’s not too late to wish you Easter blessings.  The photo is a series of azalea bushes right outside our front door.  When everything goes right, they share a blanket of blossoms about six feet in length.  I say, “when everything goes right,” because we never know if the weather will cooperate in such a way that we have the beautiful blanket that we see this year.  Last year there were just a few sporadic blossoms among the new green leaves.  With the crazy weather we’ve been having this winter and spring, we were really surprised to see this gorgeous display.

It’s easy to get stuck on all that goes wrong, from joints that warn of future surgeries to electronic blips that cause annoyance or lost work.  I was helping my son with some mowing last week while we were visiting.  The string trimmer I was using decided to act up.  I began to complain until I remembered the days when my dad made it one of my jobs to trim all the grass around the yard with hand clippers.  Ouch!  Then I gave thanks for all the ways the string trimmer helped me avoid blistered hands and aching knees from hand clippers!

It’s easy to emphasize the negative, to forget all the trillions and trillions and trillions of miracles that have to go just right every day for me to open my eyes, get out of bed, and be greeted by the sun, the singing birds, and all the rest.  We talk about spiritual disciplines for Lent.  I’ve decided to practice a spiritual discipline for this Easter season that lasts until the Day of Pentecost on June 4th.  I’m going to practice looking for and celebrating all the things that have to go just right in order for me to have the wondrous gift of another new day.  Somehow I get a sense that practicing this discipline will have a big impact on me, and my sharing with others.  I pray that God will help me celebrate the gift of divine love in Christ’s resurrection by seriously practicing this discipline.  How about you?

Blessings and Peace,

Gary

Pastor, Cross Lanes United Methodist Church

Cross Lanes, West Virginia

Help save lives! For more information on my book, “A Relentless Hope: Surviving the Storm of Teen Depression,” visit http://www.survivingteendepression.com.

My other book, “Wednesday Wonderings: Spiritual Journaling Through a Lens” is available at http://www.wipfandstock.com and http://www.amazon.com.

Check out my video, “Teens Surviving the Storm” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o1hSpxC_G24

~ by revgenelson on April 26, 2017.

Leave a Reply

 
